Carnival at the Boston Children’s Museum

Buon Carnevale! Do you know that in Italy this time of the year, to celebrate Carnevale, children dress up -just like here in America you do for Halloween- and they often dress up as Arlecchino, Colombina or Pantalone?

Come to celebrate Carnevale with us on FRIDAY FEBRUARY 13, 2015 from 5:30pm to 8:30pm at Children’s Museum, 308 Congress Street, Boston. See the program here – Admission is $1.00 per person starting at 5pm – Register at http://italianculturenight2015.eventbrite.com

 

ITALIAN CULTURE NIGHT CHILDREN'S MUSEUM OF BOSTON

If you want to get a sense of our performances… This essay was written last year by the Northeastern University student Federico De Simone after watching “Aria di Commedia”.

Going into a theatre to watch a play on a Friday night was not a common thing. Going into to the theatre also made me wonder what I was going to think once I came out since I had no idea of what to expect. Interpretations of shows from the past are never easy to reconstruct especially in other languages. I thought I was in for a show and not in a good way. But once I came out I would have never imagined in the very first moments in my mind that I would be re-thinking about scenes laughing about them in my head. Once I got home I tried to describe and reconstruct the scenes to my friends who had refused to come with me trying to tell them what an entertainment show they had been.

By no means was it a show full of effects that kept you with your mouth open or music in the background that created some suspence or helped expressing emotion. Like in the original shows at the time of the renaissance since the actors where poor and performed in the street the stage had the necessary objects for the show to be performed. But through its simplicity like in the plays of the time the wonderful and energetic acting especially through Arlecchino kept me to the edge of my seat with a constant smile on my face that was frequently followed by a laugh. Arlecchino’s interpretation of the role really made the performance a SHOW. The way the Italian humor was integrated with the American humor made the sequences of the show comprehensible for the whole audience. The integration of modern sayings or objects and still being able to keep the natural flow of a renaissance show not making anyone question why is this part included in a show that is suppose to be a recreation of what would go on in the towns of the Italian city states where very impressive. The greatest part of it all was the big stereotypical Italian hand gestures followed by every word to help express the emotion of the actor integrated with the big agile and flexible movements that Arlecchino would do kept the energy of the play always at a fast pace. When actions where performed like the consumption of food that was not actually there the big cartoony like movements with the had gestures and the noise would make people laugh because of the magnificent acting by the three performers. All these movements were very good because of the energy they transmitted.

Italian people are considered to be loud and full of energy when they speak and this being a performance you expect it to always be energetic. In this performance I never felt like the scenes where forced. I never felt like they integrated a scene just to try and create a transition to another moment of the show. All the parts where perfectly in sequence and executed with a precision that you see in movies, not in live performances. When they would jump in each others lines or eat each others words, it just felt natural. At that kept the viewers into the play at all time keeping the viewers with their eyes glued to the stage. The major transitions followed by the band playing the lively music filled up every moment of the show so that the momentum would flow from scene to scene never losing its energy.

For the first time through out the show there was no energy. In a way I felt sad unlike in the rest of the show and not because of the way it ended but because the show had ended. The laughing at the sexual referenced scenes was over. No more full attention on Arlecchino to see what he was going to do next. But when I did walk out of the door walking back home while the scenes where flashing back in my head I was happy that I got to see and experience a real SHOW.

Leave a Reply

